Factbox: Who are the first members of Facebook’s oversight board?

board members facebook oversight
Middle East

Factbox: Who are the first members of Facebook’s oversight board?

Facebook Inc's (FB.O) independent oversight board, which on Wednesday upheld the company's ban on former U.S. President Donald Trump, currently consists of 20 members.

Here is a list of the board members:



Botero-Marino is a Colombian attorney who was the Special Rapporteur for Freedom of Expression of the Inter-American Commission on Human Rights of the Organization of American States from 2008 to 2014. She is now Dean of the Universidad de los Andes Faculty of Law.


Greene is a Columbia Law professor whose scholarship focuses on constitutional rights adjudication and the structure of legal and constitutional argument. He was a law clerk for former U.S. Supreme Court Justice John Paul Stevens.


McConnell, now a constitutional law professor at Stanford Law, was a U.S. federal circuit judge. Appointed by Republican President George W. Bush, he was viewed as a possible U.S. Supreme Court nominee. He is an expert on religious freedom and a Supreme Court advocate who has represented clients in First Amendment cases.


Thorning-Schmidt was the first woman prime minister of Denmark. The Social Democrat, who led a coalition government from 2011-2015, then

Check the history on the topic
Vote to feature
Follow the conversation