European Stock Futures Edge Higher; ECB Meeting Looms Large By Investing.com – Investing.com

SourceInvesting.com
SectorFinancial Markets
CountryGulf

© Reuters.

By Peter Nurse 

Investing.com – European stock markets are expected to edge higher at the open Thursday, continuing the recovery from the sharp selloff at the start of the week ahead of the latest policy announcement by the European Central Bank.

At 2 AM ET (0600 GMT), the contract in Germany traded 0.1% higher, in France climbed 0.4% and the contract in the U.K. rose 0.2%.

This positive start follows on from gains in Asia as well as on Wall Street overnight, rebounding from Monday’s rout on fears the rising Covid cases caused by the highly-transmissible delta variant, starting in Asia and moving into Europe and the U.S., would derail the global economic recovery.

The main focus of investors Thursday will be on the European Central Bank’s , due at 7:45 AM ET (1145 GMT), and the subsequent press conference from President Christine Lagarde.

The central bank recently changed its inflation target, and investors...read more...