Saudi Arabia: Flight restart not applicable to 20 banned countries

SourceGulf News
CountrySaudi Arabia

Cairo: Saudi Arabia’s national carrier has said that the resumption of international flights from the kingdom, due next month, does not include 20 countries with which flights were banned last February. The Saudi Interior Ministry had previously announced a ban on foreigners’ entry into the kingdom from 20 countries starting from February as part of coronavirus-control measures. Diplomats, health workers and their families are exempted from the ban.

Saudi Arabian airlines added that a halt to international flights will be lifted as of 1am on May 17, but will not apply to the countries with which travel is banned by a state committee tasked with tackling COVID-19 due to the outbreak of the virus, local media reported. The 20 countries on the ban list are Argentina, the UAE, France, Germany, the US, Indonesia, India, Japan, Ireland, Italy, Pakistan, Brazil, Portugal, the UK, Turkey, South Africa, Sweden, Switzerland, Lebanon, and Egypt. The ban also includes arrivals from other countries more...