U.S. Futures Edge Lower; Optimism over Economic Recovery Remains High

SourceInvesting.com
SectorEconomy
CountryGulf

© Reuters. By Peter Nurse    Investing.com - U.S. stocks are seen opening marginally lower Tuesday, consolidating after Monday’s record highs, but the overall tone remains optimistic as strong data points to a sharp economic recovery. At 7:05 AM ET (1205 GMT), the contract was down 40 points, or 0.1%, traded 8 points, or 0.2%, lower, and dropped 32 points, or 0.2%. The closed Monday up 1.4% at a record high of 4,076.72. The rose 1.1%, or 373 points, to close at an all-time high of 33,527.19, while the ended up 1.7%. This positive tone has been based on signs of a strong economic recovery, as illustrated by Friday’s blowout and Monday’s surge in , as a successful vaccination program leads to hopes of a prompt reopening. More evidence of this economic rebound is expected from for February at 10:00 AM ET (1400 GMT), with analysts looking for a reading of 6.99 million, which would be up from ...read more...